Holy Child to raise funds for brain cancer research

Wednesday, Sept. 20, 2006

The National Honor Society at the Connelly School of the Holy Child in Potomac will be raising funds for brain cancer research as part of the Brain Tumor Awareness Week from Monday through Sept. 29.

The group will host several walkathons in conjunction with the Brain Tumor Society through the week.

The money raised by the NHS will be given to Ronan’s Roadrunners, a team participating in the Race for Hope, which is a 5K walk⁄run held by the Brain Tumor Society that will take place May 6 in Washington, D.C.

For more information, contact the Connelly School of the Holy Child at 301-365-0955 or visit www.holychild.org. Contributions can also be made to the Brain Tumor Society at Connelly School of the Holy Child, Attn: NHS, 9029 Bradley Blvd., Potomac, MD 20854.

National Merit Scholarship semifinalists named

The National Merit Scholarship competition named 168 students from 18 Montgomery County Public schools as semifinalists. They include:

Holton Arms School: Heather Diefenbach, Chloe Herman, Anne Mecklenburg, Sara Mills, and Meghna Prasad Walter Johnson High School: Diana Alkire, Scott Golden, Claire Murphy and Michael Yuan

Landon School: John Cappel

Stone Ridge School of the Sacred Heart: Megan Fitzgerald and Jocelyn Wascher

Walt Whitman High School: Rachel An, Ellen Bryson, Kevin Burgett, Andrew Chung, Brian Dellon, Jordan DePetrillo, Matthew Glenn, Andrew Glor, Sarah Grant, Jeremy Guterl, Allison Heiman, Margo Hennet, Ariel Leonard, Emma Lewis, Tana Luo, Robert Noble, Samuel Oldak, Karen Orrick, Nathan Swire, Christopher Teng, Daniel Velez-Lopez, Eleanor Vogel, Laura Zaim and Xiaoqi Zhu

Quince Orchard High School: Daniel Harvith, Jonathan Katzur, Reagan Lynch and Tim Worm

Winston Churchill High School: Mengsi Chen, Amanda Devine, Erica Duh, Heather Edward, Daniel Eichberg, Yuhan Fang, Steven Feis, Rebecca Fradkin, Adrienne Ma, Kevin Mead and Allen Yang

Georgetown Preparatory School: Michael Dugan, Daniel Lin, Zachary Perini and Brian Zall

Thomas S. Wootton High School: Thomas Bolek, Andrew Chang, Rachel Chen, Ethan Kraus, Jason Lessans, Mindy Lin, Nikhita Parandekar, Nadav Rindler, Andrew Shie and Andrew Taylor

They will compete on a national level against approximately 16,000 students for the 8,200 Merit Scholarship awards that are worth a total of $33 million that will be awarded in the spring.

Students were selected as semifinalists through their score on the 2005 Preliminary SAT⁄National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. Academic record, a principal recommendation, SAT performance, and participation and leadership in school activities will determine the 90 percent of students who will advance to finalist status.

Two thousand and five hundred students will be chosen from the finalists to receive a scholarship for $2,500.

Send your School Notes to Christina Marnik at cmarnik@gazette.net or mail them to 1200 Quince Orchard Blvd., Gaithersburg, MD 20878. Don’t forget to include date, time and contact information.