Largo High senior awarded money toward college

Thursday, March 30, 2006

Kelley Whitson, a senior at Largo High School, was one of six recipients of the ‘‘I Empower Scholarship Fund” presented by the Thursday Network, the young professionals auxiliary of the Greater Washington Urban League. All together, the six recipients received $17,500 to go towards their college education on March 22.

‘‘The I Empower Scholarship Fund has been a Thursday Network education and youth empowerment initiative for the last 14 years,” said Thursday Network President Larry L. Meadows Jr.

‘‘Thursday Network is indebted to our members, sponsors and supporters for making this year’s scholarship the second largest in our organization’s history,” Meadows said.

The funds for these scholarship awards are raised primarily through various fundraising initiatives and monetary donations from Thursday Network members and supporters.

Since 1992, the Thursday Network ‘‘I Empower” Scholarship Fund has awarded more than $120,000 in college scholarships to high school students in Washington, D.C., and Prince George’s and Montgomery counties.

Scholarship recipients are selected based on their academic achievement, extracurricular activities, and commitment to community service.

Perrywood announceshonor roll

Perrywood Elementary School in Largo has recently announced those pupils that have made the honor roll for the third grading period. Report cards were released on March 20.

Principals Honor Roll: Mychelle Brewington, Megan Brown, Brianna Bullock, Curtis Ellison, Amoni Figures, Miriame Fofana, Tayah Harper, Akosua Johnson, Avery Layne, Reina Lipscomb, Deja Logan, Jordan Prunty, Ajanae Robinson, Brian Ross, Delonda Scott, Stephanie Stashak, Christian Thomas, Erica Watford, Nia Wright and Leonard Yambo.

Third grade: Stephen Bazuaye, Amber Braswell, Jayla Desper, Angela Falade, Caroline Fryar, Christina Green, Matthew Jean-Pierre, Austin Jones, Brea Jones, Jamie Lebi, Aidan Marshall-Cort, Claudia Nash, Ismael Nyelenkeh, Stella Odaka, Jeremiah Oghafua, Olakunmi Ogun, Abieyuwa Osunde, Kayla Powell, Jaya Shelby, Michael Thompson, Chad Walker, Diante Yawn and Brion Young.

Fourth grade: Nnedi Agubokwu, Isaac Akinduro, Amir Ali, Chelsea Beaudoin, London Bowman, Krishawna Brower, Malik Criss, Kaliyah Duncan, Jennifer Goodman, Ashley Guihon, Princess Halm, Damon Hawkins, Jasmine Hinnant, Tyrone Hinton, Nia House, Virgilia Howard, Bria Johnson, Sanders Legendre, Imani Matthews, Taylor Matthews, Rukayat Muse-Ariyoh, Jerotich Mutwoi, Jasmine Nganje, Abigail Olaiya, Kevin Pearce, Olubusayo Shabi, Breanna Sorrell, Reginald Stewart, Imran Sowa, Zachary Thomas, Tamara Townsend, Paris Vaughn, Elizabeth Warner, Byron Waters, Jr., James Watts III, Erin Weathers, Devyn Wilkins, Robin Williams-Boodhoo and Lina Zhang.

Fifth grade: Jamal Arogundade, Ashley Bigelow, Caitlyn Boyles, Darrian Brown, Ramaro Chapman, Brian Clay, Jason Coleman, Janet Conteh, Kelechi Dike, Alyssa Doughty, Emeka Ezennome, Domonique Grayson, Collette Harding, Kylen Henry, Marcus Henry, Alexis Hicks, Jeroel Hicks, Britney Hudson, Tenneh Jalloh, Tyler Johnson, Kanse Kaba, Dadrianna Lineberger, Tierra Mathis, Iona Minto, Florence Odaka, Ciarrah Pierre, Raven Turner, Kilah Weaver, Jakera Webb, Dexter Williams, Dylan Williams, Taleah Williams and Blessing Yinusa.

Perrywood Elementary School is located at 501 Watkins Park Drive in Largo.

Church hosts resourceand health fair

The Women’s and Single...but not alone ministries at Woodstream Church in Mitchellvlle are planning a health and resource fair on Saturday.

The fair is geared toward women and will cover topics such as a living will, starting a business, housing options in Prince George’s County, and how to use the Center for Healthy Lifestyles Institute (CHLI).

The theme of the event is ‘‘It’s a Jungle Out There” and members seek to educate members of the community about various agencies and departments within the county.

Though this program is free, seating for the workshops is limited so registration is encouraged. Light snacks and refreshments will be served and childcare for up to 25 potty-trained children will be provided.

The event will last from 11 a.m. to 4 p.m. in the Fellowship Hall of the church located at 9800 Lottsford Road in Mitchellville.

For more information all the church at 301-883-0083 or visit the church’s web site at

Largo station seeksmusic videos

Largo based radio station im4radio is seeking music videos by local music performers in the Washington Metropolitan Area for their television show ‘‘The Spot.”

Interested musicians should send a video of themselves performing, and the show will air a 3- to 5-minute clip of the video. The show is accepting music genres such as jazz, gospel, hip hop, R&B, reggae or salsa.

‘‘The Spot” is seen in Prince George’s County on CTV channel 76. And is broadcast at least four times a week on each channel.

Check cable listings for scheduled times of broadcast.

For more information about how you can get your music video broadcast on ‘‘The Spot,” contact Reggie Gaskins at 240-832-4455.

Thomas Johnson announces honor roll students

Thomas Johnson Middle School in Lanham has recently announced those seventh-grade students that have made the honor roll for the third grading period. Report cards were released on March 20.

Destiny Adams, Sanders Adams III, Bolaji Adefolaju, Rafiat Adetona, Oluwadamil Adeyemo, Calcius Agyemang-Asir, Olumide Akinwande, Raven Alston, Javon Andrews, Ibeawuchi Anokam, Adeboye Aromire, Forwang Atabong, Ganiat Awofala, Victoria Ayegbajeje, Akinfolari Bajere, Tyler Baker, Patrick Bempah, Jr., Lawrence Benjamin, Carine Binyam, Randi Blaine, Brianna Blake-Johnson, Eboni Bonner, Shey Boyd, Jamal Britt, Andrea Brooks, Corene Bryant, Britnee Butler, Diandrea Campbell, Letarra Card, Nelson Carr, Neffertari Carroll, Tara Carter, Felipe Cazares, Karen Chacon, Orayne Chambers, Carla Clemente, Shate Coates, Jerae’ Colbert, Aaron Cole, Antonio Cole, Brooke Collins, Mary Conteh, Jasmine Cornitcher, Tamera Cox, Jonetta Davenport, Arielle Efotte, Chris Espinoza-Zuri, Janet Fahnbulleh, Oluwafunmi Fashina, Brian Florido, Christopher Grant, Tiera Greene, Kelsey Hall, Michaela Hawkins, Romitta Hoff, Kendra Howard, Edose Ibadin, Ascene Jacques, Oyinkansol Jaji, Daniela Joefield, Ure Johnson-Agwu, Chevoy Johnson, Candace Jones, Tanesha Jones, Fatmata Kamara, Zainab Kamara, Sandra Koranteng, Christopher Le, Fatima Mansaray, Sharae Marshall, Dara Martin, Keiry Martinez, Nnedinma Mbachu, Kenice McCoy, Jasmine McLeod, Brianna Meadows, Brandon Miller, Markeita Moore, Anthony Newton, Alesia O’Bannon, Prince Okoroh, Chukwunalu Opia, Nan Afari Osae-Akonnor, Oluwaseun Owolabi, Kimberly Palmer, Nykira Parham, Trevon Parks, Jalen Perry, Shirmill Powell, Mariam Rabiu, Grace Rhoads, Lashawnda Roberts, Diamond Robinson, Shamika Robinson, Raquel Sanders, Martika Savoy, James Simon, Taylor Simpson, Shanmate Singh, Jarrell Slade, Jamelle Sparrow, Darlene Tarectecan, Amber Taylor, Johnathan Tekle, Assante Thomas, Talisa Thomas, Alyssa Tillar, Hilary Unaegbu, Sara Wagan, Leia Wedge, Alfred Wright III, Alphonzo White, Javon White, Erkia Williams and Maurice Wilson.

Thomas Johnson Middle School is located at 5401 Barker Place in Lanham.

Local residents graduatefrom academy

Several residents of Kettering and Lanham have recently graduated from the Prince George’s County Citizens’ Police Academy Session 22.

Through the training, members of the academy learned defense training and receive classroom instruction once a week for 13 weeks.

The group also visited detention centers in the area and participated in ride-alongs with county officers.

Graduates include Kettering residents Diane Williams, Betty Wise, Gaston Finney, Katrina Moore and Deborah Spencer; Watkins Park resident Larry Thomas; Perrywood resident Dwayne Betts; and Lanham resident Dale Shama.