Wednesday, March 14, 2007

All-Gazette swimming: Boys

E-mail this article \ Print this article

Brian Lewis⁄The Gazette
The 2007 All-Gazette Boys Swimming & Diving team. Left row (left to right): Sean Stewart, Mark Meyer, Brady Fox; middle row: Robert Coe, Eric Friedland, Joe Knecht, Kirk Jackson; right row: Swimmer of the Year Josh Hafkin, Coach of the Year Amy Weiss, Diver of the Year Matt Cooper. Not pictured: Robert Grimmett-Norris.
Swimmer of the Year

Josh Hafkin, Georgetown Prep, Sr., Set Metros records in 50 freestyle, 100 backstroke, 400 freestyle relay and 200 medley. Will swim at North Carolina.

Diver of the Year

Matt Cooper, Whitman, Sr., Future Texas Longhorn beat his own 2005 Metros record by over 30 points to win this year’s title by more than 100.

*Robert Coe, Bethesda-Chevy Chase, Jr., Won 100 backstroke at counties and finished second in event at Metros, earning automatic All-American honors.

*Brady Fox, Georgetown Prep, Soph., Fought illness at Metros to finish third in 100 backstroke and 500 freestyle, which he won at National Catholics. Also part of Metros record-setting 400 freestyle relay.

*Eric Friedland, Walter Johnson, Jr., Won 100 breaststroke and 200 individual medley at Metros, earning All-American recognition.

*Robert Grimmett-Norris, Georgetown Prep, Sr., Picked up second in both 200 and 500 freestyle relay at Metros and was part of winning 400 freestyle relay.

*Kirk Jackson, Poolesville, Sr., Sprinted entire event to set Metros record in 200 freestyle and finished third in 100 freestyle.

*Joe Knecht, Walter Johnson, Sr., Tallied top-five finishes in 100 breaststroke and 100 butterfly at Metros and won 100 butterfly at counties.

*Mark Meyer, Whitman, Jr., Won 100 butterfly at Metros to earn All-American honors and finished third in individual medley.

*Sean Stewart, Wootton, Jr., Undefeated in individual events through regular season, and picked up first-ever Metros win in 500 freestyle.

Coach of the Year

Amy Weiss, Magruder, 4th year, Led Magruder to second-place finish at counties, its best in more than 10 years.

Second Team

Ben Mechak, Magruder, Sr.

Haywood Miller, B-CC, Sr.

Brock Park, Landon, Jr.

Joe Quattrocchi, Paint Branch, Jr.

Stephen Sakaris, Wootton, Jr.

Michael Stanton, Churchill, Soph.

Matthew Thomas, Magruder, Fr.

Kevin Vallario, Good Counsel, Soph.

Zack Wepasnick, Good Counsel, Soph.

Michael Wodoslawsky, Damascus, Sr.